What to do When Your Ball is Hanging Over the Hole?
October 21, 2010 :: Posted by - Terry :: Category - Rules of Golf
Don’t you just hate it when you chip up or make a beautiful putt – aimed dead at the center of the cup and the ball is literally hanging over the hole… and it won’t go in?! I’ve seen people do some really strange things when this happens. They jump up and down, as if they can move the earth. Golfers yell at it, hoping to frighten it and make it jump in. They cover that stubborn golf ball with their shadow so that it won’t be afraid of the depth of the cup…! But there actually is a USGA rule for this situation. Sorry, it doesn’t include jumping or yelling!
USGA Rules of Golf: 16-2 Ball Overhanging Hole
When any part of the ball overhangs the lip of the hole, the player is allowed enough time to reach the hole without unreasonable delay and an additional ten seconds to determine whether the ball is at rest. If by then the ball has not fallen into the hole, it is deemed to be at rest. If the ball subsequently falls into the hole, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke, and he must add a penalty stroke to his score for the hole; otherwise, there is no penalty under this Rule.
Tags: ball, coach, Crick, cup, game, Golf, golf lessons, hanging, how to, instruction, lip, PGA, professional, rules of golf, teacher, teaching, Terry, USGA
Leave a Reply